1st SAFETY4SEA Awards

SAFETY4SEA announced the winners of the inaugural SAFETY4SEA Awards for 2016 at a prestigious awards ceremony during the 2016 SAFETY4SEA Conference which successfully concluded on Wednesday 5th of October 2016 in Eugenides Foundation Athens attracting 900 delegates from 25 countries representing a total of 400 organizations.


2016 SAFETY4SEA Awards


2016 SAFETY4SEA Excellence Award


Neda Maritime Agency Co. Ltd.
For the implementation of the Human Resilience campaign, introduced by Shell Oil Company, thus adopting a framework essentially capable of guaranteeing the strengthening of the crew with additional safety skills via Reflective Learning and Learning Engagement Tools.

Mrs. Athena Kanellatou, Managing Director of Hellenic Office of MacGregor:

It is my pleasure today to present the winner of this year’s SAFETY4SEA Excellence Award selected from a short list of distinguished nominees. Excellence is the result of high intention, sincere effort and intelligent execution. This is well known to our winner Neda Maritime Agency. The long term success of Neda Maritime, being frontrunner in terms of reliability and Maritime safety, proves that Rhetoric does not achieve excellence – actions achieve excellence, constant improvement, uncompromising dedication to Quality and focus on the Human Element.

Mr. Antonios G. Sakellis, Safety & Quality Director/DPA of Neda Maritime Agency Co. Ltd.:

At NEDA Maritime Agency, we have identified that the best way towards the industry’s common goal of zero incidents is by enhancing our sea and shore staff’s safety culture. Therefore, it was decided to approach this task, through reflective learning and resilience, thus avoiding risk normalization and enhancing situational awareness, in a Company custom-made manner.


2016 SAFETY4SEA Initiative Award


For its solution to detect oil mist in ship engine rooms using video analytics. Fike features a full line of fire alarm, fire detection and control and fire suppression solutions, including video image detection, to keep people and valuable assets safe.

Mr. Pantelis Chinakis, President & Managing Director of INSB Class:

Being an endorser of innovation, INSB Class is proud to be associated with S4S Conference 2016 on fostering ship safety and sustainability and we are particularly delighted to have sponsored the S4S inaugural Initiative Award. Sincere congratulations to FIKE Safety Technology for conquering the S4S Initiative Award for its innovative and highly efficient engine room oil mist detection monitoring system using video analytics. This is another step towards making our industry more technologically advanced and proactive to hazards by real time monitoring thus creating a sustainably safer working environment for mariners and crew on board.

Mr. Rick Jeffress, Director, Business Development of Fike Safety Technology:

We are grateful to all those voted in favor of Fike, recognizing that Fike Video Analytics creates a highly efficient means for rapidly detecting oil mist, a precursor to a potential fire or explosion. Our company is a globally recognised supplier of products and services that protect people and critical assets from dangers such as fire, explosion, and over-pressurisation. Video analytics has proven to be an effective way to detect fire and you’ll see more of us in the future.


2016 SAFETY4SEA Training Award


Magsaysay People
For continuously investing in innovative training programs and modern facilities that help seagoing professionals gain a competitive advantage in the global maritime landscape.

Mr. Dimitrios Orfanos, Chief Operating Officer of Dorian LPG Management Corp.:

We have been working with Magsaysay for more than 10 years now and although we have been impressed by their investment in training facilities, maritime academies and other infrastructure, it is their focus to the individual seafarer that has impressed us the most and have given us the much needed reassurance that we share the same values. Investing in manning and this practically means investing in people.

Mr. Marlon Rono, President of Magsaysay People:

It is with great pride and honor to be accepting this award as Magsaysay has always been committed to the professional development of our Filipino seafarers. The Magsaysay Training Center was in fact a pioneer in offering STCW courses in the Philippines during the early 1980s. Because of our desire to promote excellence and advancement in maritime training in our country, we established the Magsaysay Institute of Shipping in 1992 through our partnership with Mitsui O.S.K. Lines and Fairmont Shipping Hong Kong. Since then, over 4,500 cadets have been trained by the institution, many of whom have enjoyed successful, high-ranking careers onboard. Aside from that, MIS has also trained more than 25,000 Filipino officers and crew since our upgrading course was first offered in 1994. In keeping with our vision of supplying the global shipping sector with skilled, competent, and dedicated maritime professionals, we decided to expand MIS by establishing the MOL Magsaysay Maritime Academy which will be operational come June 2018.

All these endeavors continue because we believe in the importance of training and development. As indispensable shipping is to the world’s sustenance, training is also indispensable to the shipping industry as the world relies on competent seafarers in the successful operations of ships and efficient movement of commodities. We share this award with our valued partners, and to the thousands of Filipino seafarers who continue to transport the vast majority of trade for a world of seven billion people.


About SAFETY4SEA Awards
SAFETY4SEAAwards are part of the SAFETY4SEA Conference within the scope of fostering Excellence & Sustainable Shipping. The process to be employed is a combination of open nomination and vote. The award categories are:

SAFETY4SEA Excellence Award
To be awarded to any person or company that demonstrated safety excellence and performance above average in any aspect of maritime activity.

SAFETY4SEA Initiative Award
To be awarded to any person or company that sparked, realised, or significantly contributed in any initiative fostering safety sustainability for the shipping industry.

SAFETY4SEA Training Award
To be awarded to any person or company that provided a significant achievement in training or breakthrough or significant contribution in any aspect of safety maritime activity.

Notification procedure is initiated few months ahead of the event with an open invitation to the industry stakeholders to propose nominations online via relevant form at dedicated awards page. Shortlisted nominees are announced within a week after nomination submission is concluded and open vote to declare the winner of each category is available for a period of three months through relevant application at dedicated awards page. Winners are announced during awards ceremony at the completion of the SAFETY4SEA conference.